Thinkkit #5: Aloha

Prompt: What did you say goodbye to this year? Was it a bad habit? A ’94 hatchback? Or something less tangible? How did you feel the day after? The week after? 

Or! What did you say hello to this year? Did it enrich your life…or detract? A new favorite possession? A tattoo? Did you decide that your life was missing something, or did you just fall into new-ness?

Share your aloha!

This year I said hello to something I had pretty much said goodbye too. My beautiful guitar who I have only recently named Hendrix.

10805779_867867350273_7484236230141220836_nWhen I was a teenager I asked my parents for a guitar….ahem…an electric guitar. I didn’t understand why girls always played acoustic guitars when electric guitars were so much cooler. My parents bought me a cheaper model with a small amp and I signed up for lessons. After I stuck with it for a bit I decided to upgrade. I remember standing in Guitar Center for hours trying decide between a red or teal Fender American made Stratocastor. Ultimately I went with the teal one and thus my relationship with Hendrix began.

Like a lot of teenagers I neglected something I once loved. I didn’t like practicing and I ended up eventually putting Hendrix in his case after my freshmen year of college. This year I decided that I needed to give Hendrix a second chance.

After blowing off some dust and getting my hands to move the right ways again I was back. I have recommitted to playing regularly and making sure Hendrix doesn’t stay in his case too long.

Leave a comment