Thinkkit #8: Rants and Raves

Get on your soapbox. What issue, idea, or stance were you vocal about this year? Or did you let it internally build up? Was there an event, person, or time that triggered your strong reaction? Or was it a slow-burn? Why do you feel so strongly – is it personal? Emotional? Strictly reasonable?

Show us some passion – make your argument from the mountaintop!

A personal issue I made a stance about this year was battling my insanity. Not clinical of course and I don’t mean to belittle clinical insanity. Clinical insanity isn’t something you can change with sunshine or positive thinking. The insanity I am speaking of however is totally under my control. They say the definition of non clinical insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

I wanted to be involved in a young professional group or board but passed up opportunities and didn’t fight for a spot.

I wanted better, stronger, and more authentic relationships and yet spent time alone and passed up chances to connect.

I don’t like stepping out of my comfort zone but if I wanted to change I had too. I took a few steps that I never would have a few years ago. I tried online dating, I joined a board, I started playing in the my Church’s band.

It wasn’t easy. One moment I stepped out of my comfort zone ended up being one of the most painful experiences of my year. I trusted someone to be there and they let me down monumentally. However it made way for someone infinitely better. I went on a few bad dates. I would leave a few networking events by pretending I received a phone call. I had awkward interactions. I probably embarrassed myself more in the past year than I have in my entire life.

I made new friends and strengthened bonds with past friends. I stopped walking in a direction that was leading me to a life I didn’t want. I took a path that had pauses and roadblocks, but at the end of the day I am far happier now than I was 6 months ago.

I now try to urge friends who feel stuck to do the same. Not the exact same because I think this process looks different for different people. I hope if you find your life looking like Groundhog’s Day you can find those areas where you want to change and start taking small steps in a different direction until you find a path that leads to change and progress.

Leave a Reply

