Thinkkit #7: Alla-Kazam!

Wave your magic wand – whoosh – what would you transform, create, or make disappear in 2015? Don’t be afraid to change the world, or merely alter the mundane. Just be prepared to defend your decision with reason, or irrational emotion!

Took a bit of a break…but I’m back! I’m hoping the powers that be in the Thinkkit world are comfortable with me writing posts SUPER late.

If I had a magic wand I would shut off the internet from 6:00-8:00 every night. It would specific to your timezone, 6:00-8:00 at night where ever you are. If you wanted to constantly be online you would just have to keep moving but hopefully you would welcome this break from false connectivity. You would share your opinions and funny quips with friends in your proximity and remember that laughter is a far better currency than “likes”. You would make eye contact more and use emojis less. You would tell the waiter your food was a little cold rather than wait until you got home to write a scathing review (that’ll show them!).

I know I am a bit of a hypocrite for writing this post online, posting it online, and hoping a couple people read it. I find myself relying on the internet more and more to live my life. Find recipes, watch the news, shop, track my fitness, track my nutrition, and perform pretty much all the essential functions of my job. I text, Facebook message, tweet, instagram, and email but rarely have an actual conversation with friends from out of state. I don’t feel like I need to attend my 10 year high school reunion because Facebook has already provided me with all the information about my old classmates. Who’s married, who’s got kids, and what they ate for dinner last night.

I should be able to put my phone down for 2 hours a night on my own with no magic required. I could either spend time in solitude or with family and friends, but instead I spend time staring a screen alone or staring at a screen with family and friends. My magic wand trick each night might stress some people out but I feel that most would find themselves with more real connections. Maybe eventually I wouldn’t need to wave the wand and people would come home from work, drop their phone, and look someone else in the eye.

Leave a Reply

