Thinkkit #3: Deck the LOLs

Prompt: What made me laugh this year.

I love to laugh and yet it took me nearly all day to think of what to put here. I could tell you stories about the weird things my coworkers say and do. Maybe I could tell you about an awkward date or the time I fell out of my chair at the office. I could give you a list of my favorite gifs of the year. I could share an SNL clip or any number of youtube clips. Instead I will choose to highly recommend a book by a beloved female comedian. No, not ‘Bossy Pants’, or Lena Dunham’s book….

I read Kaling’s book in 2 days. Which according to Kaling was the correct amount of time due to the amount of pink and flowers on the front. She is honest about her success instead of pretending she got lucky. She was a writer on The Office, not just Kelly Kapoor. She is hilarious. A few quotes for you:

About how she ‘ghosts’ at most parties:

“The reason I pull Irish exits is not because I think I’m too busy and cool to be bothered with pleasantries. It’s that when there is a gathering of more than thirty people I don’t want to waste your time with hellos and good-byes. I think it’s actually the more polite thing to do, because I’m not coercing partygoers into some big farewell moment with me. Then other people feel like they have to stop what they’re doing and hug me, too. It’s time-wasting dominoes.”

About friendship:

“We clung to each other with blind loyalty, like Lord Voldemort and his snake, Nagini.”

About people who love Frisbees too much:

“Unlike other athletes, Frisbee people won’t let it go. My theory is that this is because there’s a huge overlap between people who are good at Frisbee and people who do Teach for America. The same instinct to make at-risk kids learn, which I admire so much, becomes deadly when turned on friends trying to relax on a Sunday afternoon in the park.”

If you need a light read that will make you laugh and respect Mindy Kaling more than you already have to respect her, I suggest you read it.

Leave a Reply

