Thinkkit #2: Flip the Script

Prompt #2: Did you change your mind about anything this year?

Vacation. I changed my mind about taking vacations more specifically. I am a control freak. I have trouble letting things go and just relaxing. At my first job after college I don’t think I took more than one day off at a time. I had hours of PTO just sitting there after almost 2 years (over 200 hours….).

IMG_6387

This year I told myself that I was going to use every bit of the PTO I was given. When my parents said they had a condo in Florida for a week in April I went. When a friend asked to go to Europe for almost 2 weeks in May I said yes. I don’t think I would have said yes to either one a year ago. I am not one of those people that thinks the department or company will fall apart when I am gone or anything. I just have trouble asking for help or giving my work to other people. The neat thing about asking for help is that people then feel more comfortable asking you for help in the future. I really think vacations probably help teams collaborate and communicate better or perhaps they force us to collaborate and communicate more.

IMG_6257

It was amazing allowing myself to unplug and recharge. I think I was a better employee and person because I went on vacations. I intend to do the same next year.

Leave a Reply

